Travel Thursdays – Ocean Beach, San Francisco

21 Jun

Last Saturday, my friends and I decided to make the trek to the coast line.  I appeared to be making a weekend out of the beaches in Northern California.  The weather was just too good to pass up and I’d never been to Ocean Beach before.  This is shocking to many people from the Bay Area because it’s such an iconic beach.  Anyway, now that I’ve been there I can say it’s worth a visit.  It’s nothing like the scenic beaches I’ve posted about recently but it’s wide open and you can see parts of the city behind the sand stretches.  There’s also been surf contest held here so you can watch surfers depending on the swell and tides.  Ocean Beach hugs the South side of the Golden Gate Bridge on Hwy 1 and is easily accessible.

There were a lot of people frolicking in the water but don’t let this fool you, the water is FREEZING!

Brie, attempting to test the waters.  She was more brave than me.  I dipped my feet and then backed out.  It’s refreshing but the weather isn’t ever THAT hot at the beaches in Northern California.  It was probably around 70 degrees which was very nice to be soaking in.

Brie and Tuckey.  I love these two, they are the best.

Golden Gate Park is right behind one part of Ocean Beach.

The sand was so soft and warm.

Playing around with photoshop a bit.  I love this picture of these two!

Northern California really has so many treasures to explore.  The beaches just seem so different to me than the Southern California beaches although the weather is probably much warmer down south.  Ocean Beach is a cool place to see and when you’re done there, you could always wander to Golden Gate Park which I find to be extremely beautiful.  It’s lush and filled with meadows and ponds.  No matter where you are, there are always good places to explore.

Leave a Reply

