Lemon Ginger Heaven!

26 Mar

I’ve been looking for some good Easter Sweets to share with my family over the holidays and since I have such a huge love for Ginger, I decided to bake Lemon Ginger muffins from this recipe.  I also found the adorable cups at this art store that I used to work at which is locally owned, called Richard’s.  I try to support them whenever I can because they always took such great care of me and all my art supplies throughout high school and college 🙂  They have an awesome assortment of home decor and DIY products.  My mom and I spent yesterday baking some fun treats and she’s a great helper!  She helped me get my lemon zest and cubes of ginger from the root.  Neither of us have ever cubed our own ginger but it was actually pretty easy!  Note to self: don’t eat raw ginger, it’s SO spicy and not anything like pickled ginger.  However, it left a great after taste.  Happy Monday!

They had many different colors and designs but these were the perfect Spring cups for the muffins we made.

Peeling the ginger!

The lemons came from the tree in my parents backyard and were sooo delicious!  I squeezed the juices into the glaze on the final muffins and it was so good.

I filled the cups about 3/4 full.

After they cooled and had been glazed.

I love baking with my mom.  She always is baking pies or breads so she was the perfect person to help me perfect these Spring time treats!  I highly recommend this recipe and picking someone to bake with, especially on a rainy day!

8 Responses to “Lemon Ginger Heaven!”

  1. snowfri March 26, 2012 at 9:24 am #

    I want one. NOW. My favorite. . .lemon and ginger. They are on the list. Can you come over and show me how?

    • justalittlebrit March 27, 2012 at 11:20 am #

      OMGoodness, the ginger and lemon are the best parts! You are always invited to our baking parties – you and Eryka have pretty amazing ones yourselves!! I still need to post about those AMAZING creme puffs!!!

  2. Julie Ann March 26, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

    They sound delicious – I’ll have to try them!:)

  3. Max Reynolds March 26, 2012 at 12:42 pm #

    Great post, darn now I’m hungry for lemon ginger muffins. Too busy to bake them though…maybe tomorrow? Thanks for sharing.

    • justalittlebrit March 27, 2012 at 11:22 am #

      Yes, they are super easy and good to have around for the hungry moments!

  4. The Hook March 27, 2012 at 11:04 am #

    I bet Heaven is quite tasty!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lemon Bar Goodness « Just a little Brit - April 11, 2012

    […] everyone could have a taste but you can also make a much smaller batch.  I thought about adding ginger again since I just love the combo of the two but decided to keep it simple since I was sharing with […]

Leave a Reply

