The concrete jungle is even bigger than I could have imagined

27 Feb

The photos just don’t stop from New York.  I took so many that I think are worthy of sharing so I’ll just continue sharing : )  I hope that everybody had a great weekend!

The new World Trade Center.

A lot of these sky scrapers were close to 100 years old!  Pretty remarkable.

This was swinging over the packed streets.  Urban construction seems so dangerous!

Infamous.

The Statue of Liberty.

Texture.

Brooklyn.

Brooklyn Bridge.

Many of my photos were shot zooming past land marks but I LOVE these arches.  The curved stone is really something else.

Birds everywhere.

Murals everywhere.

City sunsets.

The one great thing, cabs are actually pretty inexpensive!  Our average fare was about $10 total for what in SF would be $30-$40!  Something to keep in mind when visiting.

Another suggestion of things to do that I experienced in NY, go to the restaurant Beauty & Essex…  It was a speakeasy and one of the best meals I’ve ever had.  It’s undercover though.  It appears to be a pawn shop that you enter and proceed to the back and tell the guard you are actually there for dinner.  He then opens part of the wall and it’s like you are Alice in Winterland who’s just been opened the door to another world.  You enter a huge, beautiful and extraordinary place.  Here are a few photos I pulled from the website.  It was an expensive meal but well worth the food, specialty drink and most importantly the experience with friends!

Outside view.

Pawn shop… or is it?

The other side… UNREAL.

Check out their site for more photos and the menu, etc.  I would highly recommend this and just going to see New York!

8 Responses to “The concrete jungle is even bigger than I could have imagined”

  1. Tim Shey February 27, 2012 at 8:59 am #

    Great photos. I have been to NYC a few times. So many places to see; so many people from all walks of life. NYC is an intense place.

    http://tim-shey.blogspot.com/2012/02/new-book-first-time-i-rode-freight.html

  2. †ransmission February 27, 2012 at 9:36 am #

    Nice! I live right by Essex

    • justalittlebrit February 27, 2012 at 10:13 am #

      Really?! That’s so awesome! Next visit you’ll have to come to the speak easy with us, one of the coolest things ever!

      • †ransmission February 27, 2012 at 11:40 am #

        It is a very surprising speak easy bu this is not my favorite… If you are still in NY you should try Apotheke!

      • justalittlebrit February 27, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

        Ohh I’m not still there but will keep it in mind for next time. Thanks for the heads up!

  3. MercuryMoonShineLove GlitterStarDustQueen February 27, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    When I read your posts my eyes glaze with love and fire the echos from ancient fairy ghosts sing beautiful music the walls turn pink and baby blue the ground trembles as stars dance across a galaxy of groovy vibes keep posting baby! X Mercury Moonshine Dutchess

  4. lyndawithaycrawford February 27, 2012 at 5:10 pm #

    Beautiful photos of NYC. Makes me feel homesick for a city I’ve only ever spent one week in!

  5. Cabbie Notes February 28, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    Great photos. I do love the textures of New York City. There are few places in the world today, even fewer in the States, where unique architecture speaks loudly. Craftsmanship and architectural details seem a thing of the past these days, but NYC really does its best to give a nod to old world quality and creativity.

Leave a Reply

