The most beautiful site the storm brought to me

4 Jan

Once Ian and I had gotten snowed in and grounded from flying, Ian’s mom Frida was so kind to find a way to make it possible for me to see horses in the snow which has been a long time wish of mine.  It was such a great experience seeing the horses outside in the snow running free.  I thought they might be cold in the snow but they looked as content as ever with even a small snow blanket on.  This is something I wish every animal lover could see in person.  Frida got me a horse photography book for Christmas and I was in love with a photo in the book of this one horse in the snow.  Little did I know I’d get my own chance to practice shooting one of my favorite subjects in the entire world in one of the most beautiful settings – snow!  My fingers were cold from shooting but it was beyond worth it!

Frida’s friend’s who owned the farm were nice enough to let us come out and check out their barns/horses.  One of them, Jason, gave us a wonderful tour and introduced us to all of the animals around the barn.  How lucky they are to live on this amazing farm.  They work very hard to keep it as beautiful as it is.

There’s always barn cats around and their barn cats were friendlier than ever.

This horse, Trigger, was a breed I’d never heard of before, a Colorado Mountain horse.  He was so beautiful.

Frida up close and personal with one of the horses 🙂

Then we met Daisy, the mini horse of a lifetime.  Such a cute mini!

Daisy and one of the barn cats.

Ian letting the horses smell him.  Always the best thing to do when first meeting a horse.

Sweet Daisy.

Beautiful.

This horse was a rescue.  He was very happy in his pasture with the snow coming down.

I just loved the colors and setting of this photo.

It was such a wonderful experience to go out and see these horses in the snow.  I was so thankful to Frida for taking me out there, Jason for showing us around, and Ian for being a champ in the freezing with a cold.  I can’t wait to go back next time I’m there and see these beautiful horses again.  I have so many more wonderful Michigan snow pictures from my trip that I can’t wait to post throughout this week and next.

Enjoy!
❤ B

7 Responses to “The most beautiful site the storm brought to me”

  1. anorwen January 4, 2012 at 8:58 pm #

    The horses are simply adorable! Thank you for sharing these wonderful pictures.

  2. sophie January 4, 2012 at 9:14 pm #

    lovely

  3. The Background Story January 4, 2012 at 10:06 pm #

    Those horses are gorgeous.

  4. stryka66 January 4, 2012 at 11:23 pm #

    A great album – thanks for sharing, & best wishes for 2012

  5. Jackie Paulson January 5, 2012 at 4:31 am #

    http://postadaychallenge2011.com/2012/01/04/add-your-url-to-meme-for-project-365/ add your URL to the MEME for Project 365 You will get more followers and I will update all the links so we can all add them. It benefits everyone. ♥ Jackie
    http://postadaychallenge2011.com/2012/01/04/add-your-url-to-meme-for-project-365/

  6. artistrybyadele January 5, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    I love the photos of the horses running in the snow! Gorgeous!

  7. designrevolver January 5, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Wow! the photos of the horses in action are beautiful! I want to frame one for my house. They really communicate!

Leave a Reply

