Sonoma – Champagne Country?

21 Oct

Another excursion we partook in over the past weekend was venturing up to Sonoma and Napa for a day.  Ian and his family had never been and I’ve only been once or twice before (my last excursion to Napa).  I’d never gone to the places we went to this past weekend though so it was another adventure together.  My parents helped guide us around and Ian’s cousins were also able to make it along for the fun day.  It also happened to be that special loverboy of mine’s birthday, so it was an extra special day 🙂

I had to break the trip up into a few different postings because I took that many photos… Ha!  So here was our first stop, a Champagnery if you will.

Domaine Carneros known for their bubbly.

This time of year in wine country is called “The Crunch” because all of the wineries are harvesting all of their grapes in preparation for their wine making.  Most of the grapes were off the vines so no grape tasting for us.

Ron and Frida!

It was very castle-like.

Large doors!

Champagne tasting!

Red wine tasting.

Very large bottles of Champagne.


There were these little birds all around.

That’s a lot of Champagne and wine bottles!

Eryka, me, my mom, and Frida!

This was only one stop from our day.  I have many, many more pictures to come!

11 Responses to “Sonoma – Champagne Country?”

  1. Gaby October 21, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Wow my favorites, Cheers!
    Enjoy your weekend 🙂

  2. Amanda (Adele) D October 21, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    Love your photos. And you look beautiful in the last pic!

  3. Frida Waara October 21, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    Britt, your pictures are like paintings. Thank you for chronicling our adventure. It was a day I will remember–especially since your mom and I found a new favorite sparkling white. What a beautiful part of the country: the perfect blend of people, place and product! Le bon vin!

  4. Rory Alexander October 21, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Some beautiful photos, thanks for sharing.

  5. Paige October 21, 2011 at 5:00 pm #

    I’ve been to Domaine Carneros before as well. Fun to see pics of it and remember my own visit there.

    • justalittlebrit October 22, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

      Ooo! I love when I can share stories with others who have been to the same place 🙂

  6. Julie Ann October 21, 2011 at 6:43 pm #

    Great pics!

    • Jahlin January 3, 2015 at 7:08 am #

      Check that off the list of things I was cofsnued about.

  7. monicakay October 24, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    on my list of to-do’s is to go wine tasting. the place you went to is beautiful

Leave a Reply

