Flashback Friday – Summer Sundays

14 Oct

Whenever there is downtime on a Sunday my family can always manage to pull it together for a Sunday get together.  Since I am lucky enough to have two amazing families (parents both re-married to whom I believe are their soul mates), there can be anyone dropping in on a family day.  This past summer of Sundays a few of us were able to gather at my mom and step dad’s for a fabulous dinner and valuable time spent together!

I love getting to see our dogs.  They are my family’s dogs and since I have a small place of my own now and I’m gone all the time, I can’t have my own yet.  It wouldn’t be fair to the animal but I still get to see our dogs when I head to my parents.

Of course, if we are anywhere near the pool Sierra can’t resist but show off her swimming and retrieving skills.  It’s rather entertaining.  However, she has tunnel vision for the pool.  Once she jumps in, it’s so hard to get her out unless Darrin calls to her.  She is very loyal to him 🙂

The sweet girl, Sammy.  She has been aging the past few years but still tries to keep up with Sierra.  You just can’t help but smile at this face.

We spend many days out by the pool and many nights in the hot tub.  I love being in water especially on nice summer days and nights!

Backyard flowers.

And there are always good treats around!  My mom is a terrific baker.

I thought I would post about this today because the weather has been so beautiful and Ian’s family is coming into town tonight :).  We are going to have a dinner all together at my mom and Darrin’s this Saturday where my dad and Vicki can also join us!  It’s going to be so nice to get to spend quality time with everyone and just enjoy a delicious meal all together.  I can’t wait!

This will be one of the first that my brother and his wife, Liz, unfortunately won’t be able to attend.  We will miss them greatly but can’t wait to see them next month.  They had to move to Texas so my brother could continue his pilot school training.


 

 


5 Responses to “Flashback Friday – Summer Sundays”

  1. Julie Ann October 14, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    It sounds like you have such nice parents!

  2. Just Ramblin' Pier October 14, 2011 at 5:21 pm #

    Your pups are adorable and it sounds like you are on a great journey. : )

  3. Dimitry October 19, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    I love dogs. I think I should start a blog about my dog Kazak. He’s quite a character, to say the least. Thanks for sharing!

  4. Gaby October 20, 2011 at 3:58 pm #

    How nice your post, I think we have many things in common, I love flowers, nature and animals.
    I have no puppies have gone to another place… but not far from my heart. I have three beautiful kittens, one is similar to yours, and as you say, they are part of the family.

Leave a Reply

