Travel Thursdays! Cairns, Australia

6 Oct

When I made the trek over to Australia, I flew into Sydney first.  However, I did do a little traveling and In between Sydney and Dunk Island, I stopped in Cairns for one night.  It didn’t have much activity there but boy oh boy was it beautiful.  It was right on the ocean and gave me a tropical island feel.  Here are a few photos from a great place.

The trees were all large canopies with hanging strands.  They were very beautiful.

This public pool was AMAZING.  You could wade in and just get your feet wet or completely submerge to fully cool off.  There were tons of people lounging in the grass areas that surrounded this pool.  It was also an infinity pool looking out on the ocean.  Pretty surreal.

There was also a boardwalk all along the ocean where you could see the sail boats and the local wild life.  These cranes were everywhere!

Cairns is a great place to visit and worth stopping in.  However if you make the trek to Australia make sure to only stay here one or two days.  There’s not enough to fill many days with in this small town.  It’s a must see though 🙂

6 Responses to “Travel Thursdays! Cairns, Australia”

  1. Guitarpicks & Bobbypins October 6, 2011 at 10:13 am #

    Wow – this looks amazing! Thanks for sharing

  2. mschristiner October 7, 2011 at 3:09 am #

    Nice pics. The pool looks awsome! I’m from Sydney so when I visited Cairns it was like a breath of fresh air. Did you get to go to the Great Barrier Reef? The snorkling or scuba diving to see the colourful coral is breath taking 🙂

    • justalittlebrit October 7, 2011 at 9:23 am #

      Thank you! I did get to go to Dunk Island and spend time on the reef… Wow is all I can say. You are soooo lucky to be from such a beautiful place! I hope I can get back there in the near future! I’d love to see the Gold Coast. Have you been there much?! And Byron Bay! The list goes on and on 🙂

      • mschristiner October 7, 2011 at 9:52 am #

        I’d love to go to Dunk Island oneday. I have been to the Gold Coast a few times and really enjoyed it. Especially for the theme parks, the beaches and the general atmosphere! I haven’t gone to Byron Bay but I heard is beautiful 🙂

        Hope you make it back soon too! Australia is a beautiful place. Where are your travels taking you next?

      • justalittlebrit October 7, 2011 at 10:19 am #

        Ooo that sounds oh so great! My next adventures will probably be to Colorado once the snow starts falling for some snowboarding. Then off to Hawaii for a week in November 🙂 After that, I’m hoping to make it to the Central Coast (Panama or Costa Rica). I always need the idea of some excitement in the future. What about you? Any places you think a traveler NEEDS to see??

Leave a Reply

