Travel Thursdays!

29 Sep

I’ve just come up with this new idea for my blog to do Travel Thursdays.  Every Thursday, I will write about a great place that I’ve been and that I think is worthy of a visit : )

To start off my first Travel Thursday, I’m going to write about Hawaii since that will be my next bigger adventure.  I’ll be spending Thanksgiving in Hawaii with some of my family and Ian.  I love spending Thanksgiving in Hawaii because it seems so wrong but right to be barbequing on Thanksgiving with your toes in the sand.  Very non-traditional but so nice to be care free on an island in the middle of the Pacific.

The beach outside my family’s condo.

I’m just a beginner but I can’t wait to do some more surfing.  I always like to go when in Hawaii because the water is so warm and the views are beyond breathtaking.  My brother likes to surf as well so when he comes along, we go out together.  I often wipe out simply because I get memorized watching all the fish swimming beneath me in the wake.

I saw a turtle while snorkeling just off the rocks here!  They are common in Hawaii but do not touch them.  It’s harmful to the animal and highly illegal.  Not like anyone would ever see you but if they do, it’s a huge fine.

I love hiking to hidden beaches.  There are little public coves like this all over the islands.

Lounging with the family : )  I love just being able to hang out with my family in Hawaii.  I’m really lucky that my family likes to all come here together.  We have a blast together!

Ohhh yes and the sunset are unreal…

Enjoy the water slides at the resorts!  Here’s my cousin : )  We had a lapping contest, look out pool goers!

View from above of part of the pool at the Marriott in Ko ‘olina.

Find some shade and relax, enjoy the views, and/or read.

Not a great picture at all but the sushi with the fresh fish in Hawaii is out of this world!  One of my favorite sushi spots is Sensei Sushi on the Maui island!

You can go boating!  My aunt and uncle live in Hawaii (on Oahu) and they take us to wake surf, boat, tube, and much more out on their boat.  We’ve seen turtles from the boat and also some amazing waterfront, out of this world, estates.

Relax in a calming lagoon.  Some resorts have lagoons without the waves that are very safe for really little kids or just loungers.

If you get the chance to go to Hawaii, explore as much as you can.  It’s one of the most wonderful places in the world 🙂


11 Responses to “Travel Thursdays!”

  1. anotherdaysucks September 29, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    Great shots 🙂

  2. wildstorm September 29, 2011 at 4:49 pm #

    Hawaii is a fabulous place, indeed. I like your idea of Travel Thursdays. I must come back to see where you’ve been. Excellent pictures too.

  3. Amanda (Adele) D September 29, 2011 at 5:15 pm #

    So jealous! I want to go back!

  4. Jaina September 30, 2011 at 1:02 am #

    I’ve been thinking about planning a trip to Hawaii next year, so reading your post couldn’t have been better timed! I’ve never been and been itching to go for a while. I’m not sure which island(s) I’d like to go to, you have any recommendations?

  5. Anita Mac October 6, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Wow – what an awesome way to spend Thanksgiving! Love it. Great that your family love it too! Will have to work on mine! Travel Thursdays is a great idea too. Have a great time in Hawaii.

    • justalittlebrit October 6, 2011 at 10:03 am #

      Yeah! It started with just one part of our family doing it and since we live in CA it’s so easy to hop over there. It’s only a 4 or 5 hour flight, so the rest of us one by one just started adding to the family fun :D!

  6. Ken October 11, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    We went to Sansei in Oahu and loved it! We’ll definitely hit up the one in Maui next time!

    • justalittlebrit November 10, 2011 at 11:20 am #

      It’s just too good to miss! I’m glad you’ve experienced it, too :)!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. I’m a week away « Just a little Brit - November 10, 2011

    […] can’t stop thinking about it.  Can it be now?  I need some serious brain relaxation, surfing, and ocean dwelling.  It’s […]

Leave a Reply

