Clark, Betsy and their love for tennis balls

20 Sep

I am such a huge animal lover and I make no exception when it comes to my friend’s pets.  One of my closest friends Emily and her husband, Matt, have the most adorable Boston Terriers you will ever see.  They were down in the San Francisco area this weekend visiting so of course Ian and I had to go visit with them and see the pups.  I used to live with Emily and Matt in Lake Tahoe right before they got married.  At that point in time they only had Lord Clark Hamilton the third…. Or just Clark 🙂 (top left photo).  Before I would leave for the day to go snowboarding and after Em and Matt would head to work, little Clark would crawl under the covers with me and put his head on the pillow right next to mine.  It made my mornings, every morning.  Then when it was time to wake up, his little snorting breaths would increase as he’d hop up and jump rambunctiously around waiting for me to hopefully throw his beloved… tennis ball.  The only snuggle time you get with Clark is before you fall asleep or right before you get up for the morning.  Besides for those times his focus is strictly on the tennis ball.  I knew dogs loved these things but Boston Terriers take love a little over the line to obsession.  After I moved back to the San Francisco area, they got another Boston Terrier named Betsy to keep Clark company while Em and Matt were at work.  Betsy is so adorable but has joined Clark in his obsession with tennis balls.  Now they fight over the tennis ball and like energizer bunnies, chase each other endlessly in search of the ultimate “find” of the tennis ball.

This is how they look at the tennis ball when you hold it just out of reach.  Their attention span lasts for hours, I swear.  Once, we tied a tennis ball to the top of the stairs just out of reach and when we came back later that day Clark was still sitting right beneath it staring at it waiting for it to magically fall into his mouth.

This is where it gets good…  They also are avid swimmers.  Well at least Clark is and Betsy waits for him to bring the tennis balls back so she can love fight with Clark for the prize.

Here you can see it in his eyes… HA!  Since the tennis ball is almost as big as his jaws, he has quite the tough time actually wrapping his jaws around the tennis ball.  He bobs it a few times before locking it in to bring home to Betsy.

If Clark doesn’t reach it the first time, he launches back in to try again.

His extension is really remarkable.  Eye on the prize.  He is committed to getting that tennis ball 🙂

Finally Clark gets the ball and heads back to his girl Betsy.

She appreciates is but after all Clark’s work, Betsy is getting tired.  The two of them don’t easily tire but when they do, they are ready for a nap.

(This is Em’s photo)

Finally, at some point they do forget about the tennis ball and remember what’s most important to them.  Each other 🙂

5 Responses to “Clark, Betsy and their love for tennis balls”

  1. Amanda (Adele) D September 20, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    Oh my gosh, I need one of these. Those are my FAVORITE dogs and I’ve been bugging Troy to get one for months! I want them! Great photos!!

    • justalittlebrit September 20, 2011 at 10:17 am #

      I want one too, SO bad!! You have pretty awesome Cats though!!! 🙂 I’ll take either but I am so in love with these dogs..

  2. Polina Pen September 20, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    OOOh, what a joy!

  3. KatiesCameraBlog September 20, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    Great photos. So cute! Love those Bostons!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Favorite Bostons « Just a little Brit - February 8, 2012

    […] and putting on quite the show when other people are around.  You may remember them from this past post.  Here are a few pics of them from this […]

Leave a Reply

