Summers in Lake Tahoe, California

29 Aug

There is no better place to spend a summer than in Lake Tahoe, California.  There are many reasons for this but I do believe pictures do way more justice.  Here is a photographic catalog of why I believe summers are so incredible by the lake.

Visit Emerald Cove (on the west shore of Lake Tahoe) where you can hike, swim, bike, boat and anything else outdoorsy.

Here’s a part of Emerald Cove where you can climb around a waterfall that leads all the way down the mountain face from the top as melted snow run off.

You can get a crazy lean going on if you go sailing!  The colors are just so unreal.  You can see all the way down to the bottom in the more shallow parts of the lake.

Hike one of the many ridges around the lake.  This is Eagle Ridge near the West Shore.

Enjoy hanging outside at night with friends and making s’mores 🙂

Relax on the beach.

Watch a sunset from one the many public piers.

Catch some interesting photos of the sometimes unpredictable weather that may roll over the lake.

Grab dinner or a drink with family/friends down by the Lake.  You can also enjoy ice cream down at some of the piers.

Watch the sun go down.

Float the river!  The Truckee River is one of the most fun rivers to float.  Yes, I know this picture is ridiculous but it’s my brother and me and that’s what you get when you put us together. Ridiculous-ness : )  You can rent a large raft like this one or you can bring your own which I’ve also done plenty of times.  This is a MUST in the summer time, don’t miss out on this fun.

On the river.

Paddle board, kayak, swim, whatever your aquatic needs desire.

Go tubing on the Lake!

I’m just so in love with this lake, I could go on and on but it’s a destination made for explorers.

I’ll be going back to my heaven on earth in less than two weeks for my brothers wedding and I’m counting down the days.  I can’t wait to be on the water and relaxing with all of my family.  I will most definitely have plenty more summer on the lake photos!

9 Responses to “Summers in Lake Tahoe, California”

  1. Emad August 29, 2011 at 7:08 am #

    Excellent photographs !

  2. snowfri August 29, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Hard be believe but Lake Tahoe is deeper than Lake Superior. It is gorgeous, and I know it’s going to be the perfect setting for Andy’s wedding. Best of all there may still be SNOW on some of the peaks!

  3. Mary Royers August 30, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    That “on the river” shot is gorgeous. Neat post:)

    • justalittlebrit August 30, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

      Thank you, I’m just looking at your recent posts and they are so beautiful!! I LOVE architecture so much, really – realllly cool photos : )

  4. I Made You A Mixtape August 30, 2011 at 8:36 pm #

    I used to live in Los Angeles and used to drive up to Tahoe to get that “alpine” feel…and to remind myself how I really do not miss the winters….lol! But seriously, beautiful, beautiful part of the country. And fabulous pics!

    • justalittlebrit August 30, 2011 at 8:43 pm #

      How cool! That’s quite a trek! Glad you got to see it, any places I need to see in the country you are from?? I’m always adding more travels to my bucket list : )

  5. Candice August 31, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    Wonderful shots!

  6. Marcos Roberto September 14, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    Beautiful photos !!

Leave a Reply

