New Commitment

8 Aug

As a commuter in and out of San Francisco on a day to day basis, I made a decision in my groggy state this morning…  No more escalators or elevators!  Now this probably doesn’t seem like it would be too hard to do but on my commute I have to take at least 12 flights of stairs to accomplish this new task.

Why am I doing this?

I have a desk job which happens to be in an awesome industry but at the end of the day, I’m not any healthier because I sat at a desk for the day (with the exception of lunch time strolls : ) ).  I want to live a healthy life style and I find by committing to little things along the way (like taking stairs only) will help contribute to a happier life.  This might not work for everyone because they might not have big buildings or huge escalators to avoid but there are always little ways to improve your lifestyle for a healthier way of living!

(One of ‘my’ flights at BART)

5 Responses to “New Commitment”

  1. chenpeng August 9, 2011 at 1:25 am #

    yup, i have to agree with you totally, i have a desk job as well, i’m a network desigher,sound not too bad,righ?! but it’s really make me sitting too long to have a sore neck and a hurt back. so, i found out some ways to do more exercise during the day time, yup, taking the stairs instead of elevators is one of them. and stand up every half an hour, drink more water, and wash hands frequantly ( because i eat fruits and cookies many times a day 😀 ) great post, very convincing.

    • justalittlebrit August 9, 2011 at 4:26 am #

      We sound the same! I love keeping fruit and cookies at my desk 🙂 It’s good for our metabolisms too, to be having small meals throughout the day! Thanks for the extra tips- very helpful!

      • chenpeng August 9, 2011 at 5:47 am #

        yep, taking good care of your neck and back. 😀

  2. rebeccasretreat August 9, 2011 at 12:44 pm #

    As simple as it is, you’re right, it does do that little bit extra for your health! I’m glad I have stairs in my home, and in my apartment at university, I never get the lift. I’ll always take the stairs. Okay, I lie, I take the lift when I’ve got my weekly shopping. But even then, I’ve trolled it through the city centre home to my apartment. We can always do little things to help ourselves! Thanks for sharing!

    • justalittlebrit August 9, 2011 at 3:18 pm #

      I agree, there are always exceptions to this rule as well 🙂 I have this really funny video of when somebody turned the stairs into a piano. It’s really very creative and amazing how man more took the stairs once it was more ‘fun.’. Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

